September 5, 2023 – The Association of Pacific Ports is pleased to welcome Shao-Liang Chen as our newly elected President. Representing Taiwan International Ports Corporation (TIPC), Mr. Chen assumes the role following the tenure of Commissioner Bobby Olvera Jr. from the Port of Long Beach, California, hosts of the recent APP 109th Annual Conference. “It is an honor to lead the Association of Pacific Ports in the coming year,” said Mr. Chen, adding that he was glad about welcoming Association members to Kaohsiung, Taiwan for the APP’s 110th Annual Conference in 2024.

As President of TIPC since 2019, Mr. Chen is responsible for the operation and management of seven international commercial ports, including APP Port Members Kaohsiung, Taichung, Keelung, and Hualien. He was Deputy Director-General for Hualien Harbor Bureau in 2011. In 2012, he took on the role of President of the Port of Taichung for TIPC and in 2015, was named Vice President of Business, TIPC. Before taking on the President’s role for TIPC, he was the Executive Vice President, TIPC and President, Port of Kaohsiung.

TIPC is a national enterprise that was formed in 2012 when the Ministry of Transportation and Communications (MOTC) divested itself of port operations of Taiwan’s four Harbor Bureaus (Keelung, Taichung, Kaohsiung, and Hualien) to allow for improvements in regional and global competitiveness. TIPC administers the four subsidiary organizations of Keelung, Taichung, Kaohsiung, and Hualien and manages all aspects of the business of these ports, their associated facilities, and their auxiliary ports.

Mr. Chen remarked that TIPC will follow the vision of taking innovation as the core, going global and becoming a center of excellence for the global port group. With the three main business objectives of teamwork, innovation, and sustainable development, TIPC will continue to focus on the core business development of the port industry and emphasize the collaboration with the clients and local governments to actively create a favorable business environment.

As Mr. Chen assumes the role of President of the APP, he is joined by both new and returning APP Port Members to the Executive Committee. Mr. Kim B. Puzey, Port of Umatilla, was elected to the position of First Vice President/Treasurer and new representative for the Port of Guam, Ms. Conchita Taitano has stepped into the Second Vice President Role with Mr. Stephen Ribuffo, Port of Alaska taking on the Third Vice President position.

The full slate for the 2023/2024 year includes:

President – Shao-Liang Chen (Taiwan)
First Vice President/Treasurer — Kim B. Puzey (Umatilla)
Second Vice President – Conchita Taitano (Guam)
Third Vice President – Stephen Ribuffo (Alaska)
Past President — Bobby Olvera Jr. with Sharon Weissman as main contact (Long Beach)

Regional Representatives
Shu-Hui Cheng (Taiwan)
Sean Clark (Columbia County, OR)
Lorianna Kastrop (Redwood City, CA)
Zoran Knezevic (Port Alberni, BC)
Thomas Maddison (Marshall Islands)
Sara Young / Kevin Ware (Skagit, WA)

At-Large Representatives
Falenaoti Loi-On Fruean / Tumua Matuu (American Samoa)
Ian Marr (Nanaimo, BC)
Kimberlyn King-Hinds (Commonwealth Northern Mariana Islands)

Associate Member Sub-Committee Representatives
Jeannie Beckett, The Beckett Group
Joe Carrillo, SSA Marine